• Karsten Pflum – Slaphead Faun

  • MWM004, Slaphead Faun by Karsten Pflum

    When Karsten Pflum started making music about 12 years ago, he was using the moniker Slaphead Faun, but when his first releases were hitting the shelves in 2002 he discarded the name again. Since 2002 Pflum has released three albums, but now Slaphead Faun is back, although this time as the name of an album.

    This album is a collection of bastard tunes produced between 2002 and 2007; they are the unreleased offspring of previous albums and EPs - the tunes that never made it on to the releases. There is a certain classic feel to the tracks, like they were in some way a yet unreleased collection of favourites.

    Pflum's early works are very experimental with beautiful melodies, elaborated beats and unconventional ideas. Tricky and clever tunes that are catchy yet border seeking, and the tracks Tak 1 and Tak One are representatives of this period. During his career, Pflum's productions gradually became more edgy, the melodies more subtle and the drum programming more equilibristic. Tracks like Pan BD Spiree and Six Step Chase shows how the music brings sound design into the mix, adding an extra layer of glitchy and quirky textures.

    The album Slaphead Faun shows the whole Karsten Pflum spectre of sound - from the harsh and aggressive Thael Spir to the softer and almost magical Computer Weekend. It reveals different approaches to composition techniques and arrangement - Byrd or Fy Darkspedter are straight forward going, while tracks like Jazzkroge III or Make Rite are gradually morphing in new mysterious directions.

    Slaphead Faun offers poppy melodic lines, psyched drill n' bass, old-school IDM and experimental electronica. It is a timeless dish of old and new tunes, a dish that altogether adds a new flavour to your ears. Poignant and seductive, like shadows manifistating in the dark.

  • Tracklist

    01 Coda Lid 06:09
    02 Computer Weekend (Crowned And Conquered Mix) 03:47
    03 Make Rite 07:22
    04 Fy Darkspedter 04:14
    05 Thael Spir 05:45
    06 Pan BD Spiree 06:30
    07 Further Down the Rabbit's Hole 04:20
    08 Jazzkroge III 04:31
    09 Tak 1 (120 BPM Karramel Mix) 05:09
    10 Tak One (Boys And Girls Mix) 08:09
    11 Lo Us - Intermezzo 02:07
    12 Byrd 04:34
    13 Six Step Chase 06:45

    Release date || June 10, 2010

  • Music by || Jacob Helverskov Madsen
    Mastered by || Sofus Forsberg @ Total Gone
    Artwork by || Anton Nesretiep
    Format || CD, Digital

Share to...