• Mindcast.32 // Arovane

  • MINDCAST.32 // AROVANE ‎- Mindcast Mixtape 06/2016

    Arovane is the recording name of German electronic music artist Uwe Zahn (born 1965 in Hameln, Germany).

    Arovane's sound can be characterized as ethereal, melodic, organic, warm and ambient yet technically involved with structured, often heavy, breakbeat and hip hop influenced beats. It is richly layered with synths and textured distortions and focuses more on generating a melancholy nostalgic feeling than four-on-the-floor dance beats. The tempos are midrange and Arovane has been labeled as IDM by many.

    Zahn was born in Hameln in 1965. He first began experimenting with rudimentary audio equipment and keyboards when he was 15. Over the years he continued experimenting and developing his sound, even learning to play the clarinet at one point. In the late 80s he was dealing increasingly with synthesizers and turntablism and deconstruction of hip hop beats. In 1989 Zahn began creating music with a collective of electronic musicians in Munich. This collective, known as S.A.M., was dedicated to creating live, free, electronic improvisational music and operated in Germany.

    In 1991 Zahn built his own studio in Berlin and his initial works could be compared to a breakbeat influenced sound.

    Throughout the 90s Zahn lived in Berlin and continued creating electronic music. After working for a radio station for a time he caught the attention of electronic music label Din. The late 90s saw his first 2 EPs Atol Scrap for Din and Tides for CCO which gained him a degree of notoriety and acclaim mainly in Germany and then throughout the world in the IDM, ambient, and electronic music scene. There were also a number of compilation appearances and collaborations released during this time. Since the productive early Arovane years of 1999 and 2000 there have been a collaboration with Phonem and one additional album release, Lilies, in 2004. It was significant that the last track on that album is called "Good Bye Forever" – as there was a nine year hiatus, which ended in 2013 with the release of Ve Palor on the n5MD label.

    Although Arovane is somewhat well known among the "bedroom" techno and IDM communities, the music has not reached this level of success among mainstream pop culture.

    Tracklist //
    01 Yoshihiro Hanno - .+ [PROGRESSIVE FOrM, 2002]
    02 Phoenecia - Livelihoods [Schematic, 2011]
    03 Morton Subotnick - Touch (Part One) [Mode, 2001]
    04 Monty Adkins - UFS_2 [Crónica, 2015]
    05 De Leon - 03 [/\Aught, 2014]
    06 Autechre - Squeller [Warp Records, 1999]
    07 Tatsuro Kojima - Owari Ni [Audiobulb Records, 2015]
    08 Dino Felipe - Free Hot Pinking [Schematic, 2002]
    09 Phoenecia - Homosote [Schematic, 2002]
    10 John Cage - Radio Music (Edit) [Mute, 2002]
    11 Curt Bois - Solang wir jung sind, Madame [Duophon, 1932]
    12 ELpH vs Coil - Ended [Eskaton, 1995]

    !!! Support the artists and labels !!! Buy the music if you like it !!!